Jumaat, Ogos 26, 2005

Listeners' choice

taken from The Star 26 Ogos 2005

FUN and funky, that is what the upcoming Anugerah ERA 2005 promises music fans and its loyal listeners.

With that in mind, there will be a mix of presenters and performers to entertain audience at the event on Sept 17. The awards will be held at the Putra Stadium of the National Sports Complex at Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur.

Anugerah ERA was started about five years ago by the radio station to enable its listeners to vote for and support their favourite artistes.

This year, the 12 categories contested are Choice Promising Artiste, Choice Duo/Group Vocal Performance, Choice Female Vocal Performance, Choice Male Vocal Performance, Choice Local English Artiste, Choice Band, Choice Nasyid Song, Choice Global Music, Choice Kaki Wayang (Movie), Choice Video Music, Choice Pop Song and Choice Rock Song.

Siti Nurhaliza leads the pack by garnering five nominations – two in the vocal category, two for songs and one for music video.

Dayang Nurfaizah followed closely with four nominations in Choice Female Vocal Performance, Choice Global Song, Choice Pop Song and Choice Music Video.

Rock group Spider received one nomination in Choice Band category and its three songs were all nominated in Choice Rock Song.

Fans will get a chance to see many of their beloved stars that night as the award presenters include Adlin Aman Ramli, Cat Ruffedge, Fahrin, Linda & Diana Rafar, Nora Danish, Akademi Fantasia 3 finalists Amylea, Marsha and Felix, Serina Redzwan, Sham Kamikaze, Umie Aida, Sharifah Amani and Zainal Alam Kadir.

Among the performers that night are Ahli Fiqir, British singer Melanie Chisholm, formerly Mel C a.k.a Sporty Spice of Spice Girls, Misha Omar, M. Nasir, Akademi Fantasia 3 winner Mawi, Nash, Rahim Maarof, Too Phat and Ziana Zain.

To add more excitement to the night, the Digi Choice Artiste award has been introduced.

The SMS & Win contest is is open to all Digi subscribers and they can vote for any Malaysian artiste – it is not just limited to this year’s Anugerah ERA finalists. This means that subscribers can vote for artistes ranging from veteran star Ahmad Jais to pop princess Siti Nurhaliza, and M. Nasir to Mawi. The grand prize for the SMS & Win contest is a Chevrolet 1.8 Sedan.

A limited edition CD album (which contains the nominted songs in the awards) that comes with DiGi’s Beyond prepaid SIM pack, is now available.

There are ways to obtain your exclusive invites to the award night. Either you log in to www.era.fm, tune in to ERA FM for tickets giveaway contests (ending Sept 9) or catch up with Skuad ERA Avanza from now till Sept 17.

Otherwise, you can also try your luck at the showcases that will be held at Berjaya Mega Mall in Kuantan, Pahang (Aug 27 at 3pm), Prai Megamall in Penang (Sept 3, 3pm), Mahkota Parade in Malacca (Sept 10, 3pm) and Putra Stadium in Bukit Jalil (Sept 17 at 5pm).

Anugerah ERA 2005 will take place on Sept 17 at the Putra Stadium of the Bukit Jalil National Sports Complex, Kuala Lumpur. The show starts at 8.30pm (stars will arrive at the red carpet around 7pm). It will be broadcast live on Astro RIA and on ERA.FM. For more information, browse www.era.fm


Most Promising Artiste: Adam, Ahli Fiqir, Farah, Syarifah Zarina, Zahid

Choice Female Vocal Performance: Dayang Nurfaizah, Farah, Liza Hanim, Siti Nurhaliza, Ziana Zain

Choice Male Vocal Performance: Adam, Anuar Zain, Vince, Zahid, Zainal Abidin

Choice Duo or Group Vocal Performance: Ahli Fiqir, Far East, KRU/Adam, Siti Nurhaliza/M. Nasir, Zahid/Adam/Farah

Choice Band: Dewa, Exist, Peterpan, Spider, Sheila on 7

Choice Global Song: Binasa (Waheeda), Dari Kejauhan (Nurulhidayah), Erti Hidup (Dayang Nurfaizah), Kembali Bersatu (Brothers/Yasin/ Waheeda), Lagu Rindu (Siti Nurhaliza), Nazam Berkasih (Syura), Panggilan (Waheeda), Tombo Ati (Opick)

Choice Nasyid Song: Aku Tanpa Cintamu (Mirwana/Jay Jay), Bacalah (Raihan), Cinta Pertama (Far East), Dari Tuhan (Raihan/Awie), Yalla Beena (Rabbani/Yasin)

Choice Local English Artiste: Gerhana Ska Cinta/Too Phat, Juwita Suwito, Reshmonu, Too Phat, V.E.

Choice Rock Song: Aku, Dia & Kamu (D-VA), Buat Sang Puteri (Spider), Cinta Dewa Dewi (Spider), Mungkin Nanti (Peterpan), Nazraku (Spider)

Choice Pop Song: Dayang Sayang Kamu (Dayang Nurfaizah), Dekat Di Hati (Liza Hanim), Elegi Sepi (Azharina), Seindah Biasa (Siti Nurhaliza), Tiada Lagi Tangisan (Aishah)

Choice Music Video: Awan Yang Terpilu (Ning Baizura), Erti Hidup (Dayang Nurfaizah), Kini (Feminin), Seindah Biasa (Siti Nurhaliza), Terhangat Di Pasaran (KRU/Adam)

Pilihan Kaki Wayang ERA: Gangster (Tayangan Unggul), Puteri Gunung Ledang (Enfiniti Productions), Sembilu 2005 (Skop Productions Sdn Bhd), Senario XX (Grand Brilliance Sdn Bhd), Sepet (MHZ Film)

Tiada ulasan: